Petrikirche is only about 250 meters from the right bank of the Daugava in the center of the old town of Riga, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. There, its 123 meter high tower, together with the tower of the neighboring cathedral, defines the silhouette of the Latvian metropolis. Visit thedressexplorer for Brief Information About Latvia.
The tower of the Petrikirche as a contemporary witness
The Petrikirche was built in several stages from the 13th to the 15th century. Only a few years after the completion of the altar was it possible to complete its expansion in 1491 with the completion of the octagonal tower. The upper part of this baroque tower consisted of a wooden structure with several domes and galleries. With its height of 136 meters at the time, the tower was considered to be the tallest wooden structure in the world. It was severely damaged and rebuilt several times in the period that followed. Finally, in 1941, when the church burned, it collapsed again after being hit by a bullet. In 1973 its renovation was completed in the course of the reconstruction of the Petrikirche. Its former wooden structure was replaced by a steel one. Its height was reduced to 123 meters. Since then, an elevator has taken interested visitors to a gallery located at a height of 72 meters. From here there is an impressive view of the city. The tower clock, which has only one hour hand, is combined with a carillon.
A brick Gothic style church
Today, tourists, including those on study trips, enter the three-aisled basilica of St. Peter’s Church through the restored main portal, which is decorated with limestone sculptures. Inside, massive arrows support a ceiling made of cross and star vaults. The height of the central nave is about 30 meters. Five chapels surround the Gothic high altar. Several tombs, including those of the legendary Blue Citizen Company, have been renewed. The sacristy received colored mosaic windows and its walls were decorated with Dutch tiles.
In its restored condition, the largest church in Latvia now serves as the city’s cultural and art center. In it, visitors have the opportunity to gain an insight into the history of Riga but also into the future development of the city.
House of the Blackheads
The House of the Blackheads is located on Riga’s Town Hall Square, the capital of Latvia. With its imposing, magnificent facade, the Gothic-style building attracts the attention of visitors. Numerous sculptures and reliefs adorn the impressive structure, which is one of the main attractions of the city of Riga.
Destruction and reconstruction of the House of the Blackheads in Riga
After the construction of the house in 1334, it served as a venue for gatherings and celebrations of merchants and other citizens of Riga (especially the German citizenry). During the Second World War the building was destroyed by the German troops, the remaining, badly damaged ruins were later blown up. The area then lay fallow. There was no development for a long time. It was not until many years later that today’s House of the Blackheads took shape. The faithful reconstruction of the building began in 1993 and was completed in 1999.
Study trips to the House of the Blackheads
When traveling to the Latvian capital Riga, the House of the Blackheads should be on the list of sights to visit. The diverse facade decorations allow visitors to discover a lot. For example, you can see a blue astronomical clock, which was made by a master watchmaker in 1626, and the city coats of arms of the Hanseatic cities of Riga, Hamburg, Bremen and Lübeck. The Riga city coat of arms in the form of a lion can also be found. Some inscriptions on the facade also adorn the building. The House of the Blackheads is therefore a building that a visitor should take a closer look at in order to discover everything on the facade.