Iowa Community Colleges

Iowa is home to a variety of community colleges that provide students with excellent educational opportunities. The largest community college in the state is Iowa Western Community College, which has seven campuses located throughout the state. At Iowa Western, students can choose from a wide selection of programs and courses such as business, healthcare, technology, and engineering. Other popular schools in the state include Kirkwood Community College and Des Moines Area Community College.

Community College Location Enrollment
Kirkwood Community College Cedar Rapids 20,161
Des Moines Area Community College Ankeny 23,974
Western Iowa Tech Community College Sioux City 6,708
Iowa Western Community College Council Bluffs 7,012
Eastern Iowa Community College Davenport 7,176
Northeast Iowa Community College Calmar 3,473
Indian Hills Community College Ottumwa 3,379
North Iowa Area Community College Mason City 2,974
Southwestern Community College Creston 1,708
Hawkeye Community College Waterloo 5,684
Iowa Lakes Community College Estherville 2,934
Iowa Central Community College Fort Dodge 5,318
Southeastern Community College West Burlington 2,882
Marshalltown Community College Marshalltown 2,087

Kirkwood Community College offers associate’s degrees in fields such as nursing, business administration, computer science, and criminal justice. Des Moines Area Community College offers associate’s degrees in areas like psychology and sociology as well as bachelor’s degrees in education and social work. Both schools also offer online classes for those who cannot make it to campus for traditional classes. In addition to these two main schools, there are many other smaller community colleges throughout Iowa that provide quality education at an affordable cost. These schools often provide students with a great foundation to prepare them for further study or to jumpstart their career.

List of All Community Colleges in Iowa

Below is a list of all community colleges in the state of Iowa. For each college, you will see the name of current president, website URL,  street address, phone number, postal code and city location.

Des Moines Area Community College

CEO/President: Robert J.  Denson
Web Address:
Address: 2006 South Ankeny Boulevard
City: Ankeny
Zip: 50023
State: IA
Phone: 5159646638


Eastern Iowa Community College District

CEO/President: Patricia A.  Keir
Web Address:
Address: 306 West River Drive
City: Davenport
Zip: 52801
State: IA
Phone: 5633363300


Hawkeye Community College

CEO/President: Greg  Schmitz
Web Address:
Address: 1501 East Orange Road  PO Box 8015
City: Waterloo
Zip: 50704-8015
State: IA
Phone: 3192964201


Indian Hills Community College

CEO/President: Jim  Lindenmayer
Web Address:
Address: 525 Grandview Avenue  Building 1
City: Ottumwa
Zip: 52501
State: IA
Phone: 6416835111


Iowa Central Community College

CEO/President: Robert A.  Paxton
Web Address:
Address: 330 Avenue M
City: Fort Dodge
Zip: 50501
State: IA
Phone: 5155767201


Iowa Department of Education

CEO/President: Janice Nahra  Friedel
Web Address:
Address: Div of Comm Coll & Workforce Prep  Grimes State Office Building
City: Des Moines
Zip: 50319-0146
State: IA
Phone: 5152818260


Iowa Lakes Community College

CEO/President: Harold  Prior
Web Address:
Address: 19 South 7th Street
City: Estherville
Zip: 51334
State: IA
Phone: 7123620434


Iowa Valley Community College District

CEO/President: Timothy A.  Wynes
Web Address:
Address: 3702 South Center Street
City: Marshalltown
Zip: 50158-4760
State: IA
Phone: 6417524643


Iowa Western Community College

CEO/President: Dan  Kinney
Web Address:
Address: 2700 College Road  Box 4C
City: Council Bluffs
Zip: 51503
State: IA
Phone: 7123253200


Kirkwood Community College

CEO/President: Mick  Starcevich
Web Address:
Address: 6301 Kirkwood Boulevard SW
City: Cedar Rapids
Zip: 52404-5299
State: IA
Phone: 3193985500


Muscatine Community College

CEO/President: Victor  McAvoy
Web Address: eicc.edumcc
Address: 152 Colorado Street
City: Muscatine
Zip: 52761
State: IA
Phone: 5632886001


North Iowa Area Community College

CEO/President: Michael C.  Morrison
Web Address:
Address: 500 College Drive
City: Mason City
Zip: 50401
State: IA
Phone: 6414231264


Northeast Iowa Community College

CEO/President: Penelope  Wills
Web Address:
Address: Box 400
City: Calmar
Zip: 52132
State: IA
Phone: 5635623263


Northwest Iowa Community College

CEO/President: William G.  Giddings
Web Address:
Address: 603 West Park Street
City: Sheldon
Zip: 51201-1046
State: IA
Phone: 7123245061


Scott Community College

CEO/President: Thomas G.  Coley
Web Address: eicc.eduscc/
Address: 500 Belmont Road
City: Bettendorf
Zip: 52722
State: IA
Phone: 5634414061


Southeastern Community College

CEO/President: Beverly  Simone
Web Address:
Address: 1500 West Agency Road  PO Box 180
City: West Burlington
Zip: 52655-4957
State: IA
Phone: 3197522731


Southwestern Community College

CEO/President: Barbara J.  Crittenden
Web Address:
Address: 1501 West Townline Street
City: Creston
Zip: 50801
State: IA
Phone: 6417827081


Western Iowa Tech Community College

CEO/President: Robert E.  Dunker
Web Address:
Address: 4647 Stone Avenue  PO Box 5199
City: Sioux City
Zip: 51102-5199
State: IA
Phone: 7122746400


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *