General Information about South Sudan

South Sudan ( English South Sudan ),the official name of the Republic of South Sudan ( English Republic of South Sudan ) is a state in Africa with its capital in Juba. It is planned to transfer the capital from Juba to the central part of the country in the state of Lakes in the newly established capital district of the city Ramsel. It borders Ethiopia to the east, Kenya, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the south, the Central African Republic to the west, and Sudan to the north. The area is 619,745 km². The sovereign status of South Sudan came into force on July 9, 2011, after the signing of the declaration about the proclamation of its independent state. Member of the UN since July 14, 2011. Has no access to the sea.


The dry period in the region is very short and lasts only in the winter months ( in the north it is longer, but still lasts a smaller part of the year ). The annual rainfall ranges from 700 mm in the north to about 1400 mm in the southwest. All South Sudan covered with forests, which are divided into two parts. These are monsoon ( tropical ) forests – in the south, and equatorial – in the extreme south, that is, monsoon ( 25 %) and equatorial ( 5 %).

Territories with disputed status

  • The Abyei District of Waraba in South Kordofan, controlled by Sudan. In accordance with the Naivasha Agreement, the status of the territory must be determined by referendum.
  • Ilemi Triangle in Eastern Equatoria, controlled by Kenya. The status is unclear due to the inconsistency of documents from the colonial era.
  • The Kafia – Kingi region of South Darfur, controlled by Sudan. The area was part of Bahr el Ghazal in 1956, transferred to Darfur in 1960. _ _ _ The Government of the Sudan recognized the Republic of South Sudan on July 9, 2011 within the borders on January 1, 1956, while, in accordance with the Naivasha Agreement, we are not talking about the administrative border of that time, but about the dividing line between the North and the South that existed at the time Sudan gained independence on January 1, 1956. In particular, it is known that this line in at least one place ( in the Abyei area ) does not coincide with the border of the provinces that existed in 1956. Which of the administrative borders ( 1956 or 1960 ) in its western part corresponds to the dividing line is unknown, and each state recognizes that border, which he sees fit ( cf. Halaib Triangle ) . The United States recognizes the 1956 border ( on CIA maps, the territory in question is designated as part of South Sudan ). Russia recognizes the border of the provinces at the time of the division of the country ( that is, corresponding to the administrative border of 1960 ), believing that it generally repeats the dividing line of 1956, while the Russian Foreign Ministry and Rosreestr have information about the exact passage of the dividing line of 1956 in they do not have in that area and consider the existing border as temporary until the end of negotiations.


According to Countryaah, the population of South Sudan is from 7.5 to 13 million people. According to the results of the Sudanese census in 2008, the population of the South was 8,260,490 people, but the authorities of South Sudan do not recognize these results, since the central bureau of statistics in Khartoum refused to provide them with initial data for the region for their own processing and evaluation.

The majority of South Sudan ‘s population is of the Negroid race and follows either Christianity, or traditional African animistic religions. The main population group is made up of the Nilotic peoples, the most numerous of which are the Dinka, Nuer, Azande, Bari and Shilluk.


The official language of the country is English. Most people in South Sudan speak a variety of Nilotic, Adamawa – Ubangian, Central Sudanese and other languages and dialects, the largest of which is the Dinka language.


The majority of the population of South Sudan follows either Christianity, or traditional African animist religions.

People of South Sudan